St. John’s, Antigua, December 5 – ( – For the first time in his One-Day International (ODI) career, Barbadian wicketkeeper-batter Shai Hope will captain West Indies in the three-match series against Pakistan in Karachi this month after Kieron Pollard pulled out because of a nagging hamstring injury.

And Nicholas Pooran, also a wicketkeeper-batter, will lead the Twenty20 International side for three matches as well against the Pakistanis in place of Pollard, his fellow Trinidadian, who sustained the injury at the recent T20I World Cup in the United Arab Emirates and Oman.

Both Hope and Pooran had originally been named vice-captains in the respective formats for the December 13 to 22 tour.

Now the 28-year-old Hope will be the T20I vice-captain and Pooran, 26, the ODI team deputy.

Pooran stood in as T20I captain for an injured Pollard against Australia in the Caribbean this year when West Indies won 4-1.

In the absence of Pollard for the tour to Pakistan, Jamaican batting all-rounder Rovman Powell has been drafted into the T20I squad and wicketkeeper-batter Devon Thomas of Antigua in the ODI.

“Pollard will undergo rehabilitation work in Trinidad, under the supervision of CWI’s Chief Medical Officer, Dr. Israel Dowlat, and will be reassessed in a few weeks ahead of the upcoming home tours against Ireland and England in January 2022,” Cricket West Indies (CWI) said in a media release today.

Hope boasts of an impressive ODI batting record. In 83 matches he has amassed 3599 runs including ten centuries with a highest of 170, at an average of 52.92

There are five Barbadians in the ODI squad – Hope, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves and Raymon Reifer – and four in the T20I – Hope, Chase, Dominic Drakes and Kyle Mayers.

The ODI Series will be West Indies fourth of 12 in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League in which the top seven teams can secure automatic qualification for the World Cup 2023 in India. West Indies are currently in eighth position out of 13 teams with four wins in nine matches and have the opportunity to move above Pakistan. A 3-0 sweep will lift West Indies to third.

The start times for the matches are: T20Is at 6pm local time (9am Eastern Caribbean/8am Jamaica) and the ODIs at 1pm local time (4am Eastern Caribbean/3am Jamaica).

West Indies squads:

ODI: Shai Hope (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Shamarh Brooks, Roston Chase, Justin Greaves, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Gudakesh Motie, Anderson Phillip, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Devon Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.

T20I: Nicholas Pooran (captain), Shai Hope (vice-captain), Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Gudakesh Motie, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Oshane Thomas, Hayden Walsh Jr.


December 13 – 1st T20I, Karachi

December 14 – 2nd T20I, Karachi

December 16 – 3rd T20I, Karachi

December 18 – 1st ODI, Karachi

December 20 – 2nd ODI, Karachi

December 22 – 3rd ODI, Karachi