Dwayne Smith slams record third ton in BCA T20 Cup

By Keith Holder

Bridgetown, Barbados, April 30 – (www.barbadoscricket.org) – Dwayne Smith now has a unique record in the Barbados Cricket Association (BCA) Twenty20 Cup Championship.

Twelve days after celebrating his 39th birthday, the Bayview Hospital YMPC captain and all-rounder became the first batter to score three centuries in the Tournament, which started in 2008.

Opener Smith slammed 124 not out off 74 balls with 17 threes and 13 fours in a total of 167 for three against Wanderers at Beckles Road in Series 2 on April 24.

But Wanderers won by nine wickets with 31 balls remaining as Roshon Primus and Jonathan Drakes featured in a second wicket partnership of 167 in 14.3 overs.

Primus scored 86 not out off 52 balls including eight threes and nine fours while Drakes was unbeaten on 69 off 39 balls with 10 threes and five fours.

In treasuring his feat, however, Smith is now also the only player to score a hundred in a losing cause. It was the 20th century of the Tournament.

Smith’s other centuries are 101 off 64 balls including eight fours and seven sixes against Sagicor Life UWI at the 3Ws Oval in 2011 when YMPC won by three runs; and 112, co-incidentally also off 64 deliveries with 12 fours and five sixes against IGS Insurance Brokers Yorkshire at Friendship the following season.

Undoubtedly, Smith will always remember the match against Yorkshire as he also took a hat-trick in figures of four for 14 off four overs, in addition to two catches in a resounding victory by 151 runs.

YMPC made 202 for five and blew away Yorkshire for 51 in 9.4 overs.

Four batters have scored two centuries – siblings Jonathan Carter and David Carter, Shai Hope and Kyle Corbin.

Left-hander Jonathan Carter hit 105 off 44 balls with 11 fours and eight sixes for UWI in a 77-run victory against Yorkshire at Friendship in 2014.

UWI amassed 252 for five and Yorkshire responded with 175 for eight as Carter, bowling right-am medium-pace, picked up four for 21 off four overs.

His other century was 110 (49 balls, 4 fours, 10 sixes) against Spartan at 3Ws Oval in 2015. UWI won by 138 runs.

Representing Wildey, David Carter, also a left-hander, made 116 not out off 65 balls including 11 fours and six sixes against St. Catherine at SJPI in a five-wicket win in 2015.

The very next day, he scored an unbeaten 110 off 58 balls, again containing 11 fours and six sixes in a total of 226 for three against Yorkshire at Friendship. Wildey won by 61 runs.

David Carter is the only batter to record back-to-back centuries.

Shai Hope’s centuries for ESA Field Pickwick are both against Foundation School at neutral venues in successive seasons. He made 104 at Friendship in 2018 and 126 at SJPI in 2019.

Corbin got his tons for UWI ‘A’ in 2020 – 112 v Lords at 3Ws Oval and 100 not out v St. Catherine at Bayfield.

Kirk Gibson, a left-hander, scored the first ever century – 109 off 50 balls with 13 fours and seven sixes for Carlton against Barbados Youth at the Lester Vaughan ground, Cane Garden, in the very first round in 2008, as Carlton won by six wickets.

List of centuries:

2008 – One.

Kirk Gibson (Carlton) 109 (50 balls, 13 fours, 7 sixes) v Barbados Youth at Lester Vaughan, Cane Garden. May 18. Carlton won by six wickets.

2011 – One.

Dwayne R. Smith (YMPC) 101 (64 balls, 8 fours, 7 sixes) v UWI at 3Ws Oval. November 27. YMPC won by three runs.

2012 – Two.

Dwayne R. Smith (YMPC) 112 (64 balls, 12 fours, 5 sixes) v Yorkshire at Friendship. November 3. NB: Smith also took a hat-trick en route to figures of four for 14 off four overs, and held two catches. YMPC won by 151 runs.

Justin Brathwaite (LIME) 101 (56 balls, 5 fours, 8 sixes) v Carlton at Desmond Haynes Oval. November 11. LIME won by seven wickets.

2013 – One.

Shacaya Thomas (UWI) 131 not out (65 balls, 12 fours, 9 sixes) v BCL at Blenheim ‘A’. July 27. UWI won by 127 runs.

2014 – Three.

Ashley Nurse (LIME) 106 not out (51 balls, 10 fours, 5 sixes) v BDFSP at Paragon. May 3. LIME won by 64 runs.

Jonathan Carter (UWI) 105 (44 balls, 11 fours, 8 sixes) v Yorkshire at Friendship. May 4. UWI won by 77 runs.

Davon Goodman (BCL) 115 (49 balls, 9 fours, 10 sixes) v Foundation at Church Hill. May 11. BCL won by 25 runs. NB: The match produced a record 483 runs.

2015 – Three.

Jonathan Carter (UWI) 110 (49 balls, 4 fours, 10 sixes) v Spartan at 3Ws Oval. May 23. UWI won by 138 runs.

David Carter (Wildey) 116 not out (65 balls, 11 fours, 6 sixes) v St. Catherine at SJPI. May 23. Wildey won by five wickets.

David Carter (Wildey) 110 not out (58 balls, 11 fours, 6 sixes) v Yorkshire at Friendship. May 24. Wildey won by 61 runs.

2016 – Two.

Shakeel Richards (Carlton) 100 (57 balls, 10 fours, 5 sixes) v Combermere at Deighton Griffith, Kingsland. April 17. Carlton won by 16 runs.

Rovman Powell (UWI) 120 not out (53 balls, 3 fours, 12 sixes) v Pickwick at 3Ws Oval. June 14. UWI won by 95 runs.

2018 – One.

Shai Hope (Pickwick) 104 (64 balls, 10 fours, 7 sixes) v Foundation at Friendship. April 22. Pickwick won by seven runs (D/L/S method).

2019 – Two.

Shai Hope (Pickwick) 126 (54 balls, 10 fours, 10 sixes) v Foundation at SJPI. April 6. Pickwick won by 153 runs.

Kyle Mayers (Carlton) 111 not out (63 balls, 9 fours, 7 sixes) v Barbados Youth at Desmond Haynes Oval. April 20. Carlton won by 57 runs.

2020 – Three.

Zachary McCaskie (Wildey) 106 (51 balls, 7 fours, 8 sixes) v Foundation at SJPI. September 5. Wildey won by 70 runs.

Kyle Corbin (UWI ‘A’) 112 (56 balls, 5 fours, 10 sixes) v Lords at 3Ws Oval. September 12. UWI ‘A’ won by 176 runs.

Kyle Corbin (UWI ‘A’) 100 not out (57 balls, 4 fours, 7 sixes) v St. Catherine at Bayfield. September 26. UWI ‘A’ won by nine wickets.

2022 – One.

Dwayne R. Smith (YMPC) 124 not out (74 balls, 17 threes, 13 fours) v Wanderers at Beckles Road. April 24. Wanderers won by nine wickets.