Leaders Barbados struggle to 97-9 against Leewards on rain-hit day – CWI Under-19, Round 3, Day 1

Kingstown, St. Vincent, July 25 – (www.barbadoscricket.org) – Front-runners Barbados struggled with the bat against defending champions Leeward Islands on a rain-shortened opening day of the third and penultimate round in the Cricket West Indies (CWI) Rising Stars men’s Under-19 three-day Championship at Arnos Vale today.

Sent in after a delayed start at noon due to wet conditions, Nathan Sealy’s team battled to 97 for nine off 43.4 overs by stumps.

They were undermined by pacers Chamiqueko Landerfort with a five-wicket haul and Kimani Nisbett, who picked up three scalps.

It was also an excellent day for Leeward Islands captain and wicketkeeper/batsman, Carlon Bowen-Tuckett, who took six catches. Nevisian Bowen-Tuckett is the son of former Leeward Islands and West Indies all-rounder Carl Tuckett. His mother Sonia is a Barbadian.

Opener Zion Brathwaite has topscored with 35 including four boundaries off 87 balls in 136 minutes. He was fifth out with the score 70.

Brathwaite and Achilles Browne added 42 in 19.5 overs for the first wicket before Browne was caught by Bowen-Tuckett off Landerfort for 17.

Off the next ball, a lifter, key batsman Joshua Dorne was also caught by Bowen-Tuckett.

Apart from Brathwaite and Browne, three other batsmen reached double-figures: leg-spinning all-rounder Isaiah Folkes (12), pacer Dre Springer (11 not out) and Gadson Bowens (10).

Effectively, Barbados lost nine wickets for 55 runs in 23.5 overs.

Landerfort, who came on as second change, has five for 21 off 12 overs and Nisbett, three for 38 off 14 overs.

Rain prevented play in the other two matches – Jamaica versus Windward Islands at Park Hill and Guyana versus Trinidad & Tobago at Sion Hill.

POINTS: Barbados 45.4, Guyana 28.8, Windward Islands 26, Trinidad & Tobago 23.6, Leeward Islands 21, Jamaica 19.4.

The Tournament format is as follows:

Teams are placed in two groups of three (3).

Each team plays the two (2) sides in their group plus one (1) team from the other group.

Following three (3) rounds of games:

Teams placing 1st in each group will play off for 1st and 2nd place.

Teams placing 2nd in the group will play off for 3rd and 4th place.

Teams placing 3rd in the group will play off for 5th and 6th place.


The winner of the 1st, 3rd and 5th place matches will be based on the outright winner of the respective play off match.

If no outright winner, the team with the most points including bonus points. If not

The team that won 1st innings.

If the match ends in a draw with no outright or 1st innings or points winner the team with the best net run rate for the match.


BARBADOS 1st Innings

Zion Brathwaite c wk Bowen-Tuckett b Nisbett               35     (87 balls, 136 mins, 4×4)

Achilles Browne c wk Bowen-Tuckett b Landerfort         17     (54 balls, 92 mins, 1×4, 1×6)

Joshua Dorne c Bowen-Tuckett b Landerfort                   0     (1 ball, 1 min)

Nimar Bolden c Greaves b Landerfort                                5     (16 balls, 13 mins)

+Joshua Morris c wk Bowen-Tuckett b Nisbett                 3     (9 balls, 7 mins)

Gadson Bowens b Landerfort                                             10     (24 balls, 28 mins, 1×4)

*Nathan Sealy c wk Bowen-Tuckett b Nisbett                  0    (8 balls, 6 mins)

Isaiah Folkes c wk Bowen-Tuckett b Amory                     12     (29 balls, 29 mins, 2×4)

Saurav Worrell c wk Bowen-Tuckett b Landerfort           0      (1 ball, 1 min)

Dre Springer not out                                                             11      (33 balls, 29 mins)

Extras (lb4)                                                                              4

TOTAL (9 wks, 43.4 overs)                                                    97

To bat: Jaden Lorde.

Fall of wickets: 1-42 (Browne, 19.5 ov), 2-42 (Dorne, 19.6 ov), 3-48 (Bolden, 23.5 ov), 4-57 (Morris, 26.2 ov), 5-70 (Brathwaite, 30.4 ov), 6-74 (Sealy, 32.6 ov), 7-74 (Bowens, 33.1 ov), 8-74 (Worrell, 33.2 ov), 9-97 (Folkes, 43.4 ov).

Bowling: Nathan Edwards 7-3-5-0, Kimani Nisbett 14-5-38-3, Michael Palmer 5-0-18-0, Chamiqueko Landerfort 12-6-21-5, Jewel Andrew 2-1-5-0, Onaje Amory 2.4-0-6-1, Micah Mckenzie 1-1-0-0.

LEEWARD ISLANDS – *+Carlon Bowen-Tuckett, Chamiqueko Landerfort, Jewel Andrew, Malique Walsh, Micah Mckenzie, Michael Greaves, Michael Palmer, Nathan Edwards, Onaje Amory, Tyanick Honore, Kimani Nisbett.

Toss: Leeward Islands.

Umpires: Raj Kumar, Bernard Joseph.

Reserve Umpire: Culbert McDonald.

Match Referee: Goalan Greaves.

Scorers: Samantha Lynch, Akiyah Forbes, Woodrow Williams, Romano Pierre.


CWI Under-19 3-day Championship, Round 3, Day 1, Scores

Kingstown, St. Vincent, July 25 – (www.barbadoscricket.org) – Summarised scores at the close of play on the first day of the Round 3 match between Barbados and Leeward Islands in the Cricket West Indies (CWI) Rising Stars men’s Under-19 three-day Championship at Arnos Vale today:

Barbados 97-9 (43.4 overs) (Zion Brathwaite 35, Achilles Browne 17, Isaiah Folkes 12, Dre Springer 11 not out, Gadson Bowens 10; Chamiqueko Landerfort 5-21, Kimani Nisbett 3-38).

Toss: Leeward Islands.